Loading...

Best-selling Skulduggery Pleasant series

Banish boredom and enter the spine-tingling world of Skulduggery Pleasant with a free children’s audiobook!

Skulduggery Pleasant is a best-selling, award-winning, action-packed series of adventures for children aged nine and up and now you and your children can listen to the first book in the series completely free of charge as the audiobook is being released in daily episodes every weekday from Monday 27th April, right up until half term. Head to the Skulduggery Pleasant website here to find today’s episode – and don’t worry if you missed the start, you can catch up on all the previous episodes too.

This brilliant series is something akin to Buffy meets Dr Who meets Ghostbusters… Be warned, once you start, you won’t want to stop!

Stephanie’s uncle Gordon is a writer of horror fiction. But when he dies and leaves her his estate, Stephanie learns that while he may have written horror, it certainly wasn’t fiction. Pursued by evil forces intent on recovering a mysterious key, Stephanie finds help from an unusual source – the wisecracking skeleton of a dead sorcerer. Will evil win the day? Will Stephanie and Skulduggery stop bickering long enough to stop it? One thing’s for sure: evil won’t know what’s hit it.

Packed with fast and furious action, cracking dialogue and supernatural themes, the best-selling Skulduggery Pleasant series of adventures by Irish author Derek Landy has captivated readers with its strong central relationship between teen Stephanie and the living skeleton Skulduggery and the cinematic style of the writing appeal to boys and girls alike. Oh, and it’s dead witty too.

There are now 13 books in this epic series, perfect for bored kids to get their teeth into and escape into a world of magic and mayhem. Fans of Harry Potter, Darren Shan and Percy Jackson will love the action, adventure, magic and humour of this brilliant series. In fact, Rick Riordan, the author of the Percy Jackson series, is himself a fan, saying: ‘Skulduggery Pleasant serves up a thoroughly satisfying blend of humour, magic and adventure. Once you’ve met Stephanie and Skulduggery, you’ll be clamouring for a sequel.’

Resources:

Character Quiz | Extract from book 1 | Soundcloud audiobook extract for Book 1 | Teaching resources

For more information visit www.skulduggerypleasant.co.uk


Liked this feature? Drop us a line and let us know what else you’d like to see from us at info letsgo.info@boomerangfamily.co.uk.

Also, you can many more great family things to do and ideas to help during the lockdownhere

In support of families, we have switched our gaze from looking for local ideas and inspiration for things to do and places to go with your family to ideas and inspirations for things to do at home, in the garden and safely in the wider outdoors. Sign up to our e-newsletter here for all this information delivered safely to your inbox.
Signup

Coronavirus Notice

Stay safe. Coronavirus advice is being updated daily and most attractions are closed. Feel free to browse for future trips. Let’s Go with the Children is still open and are here to help and support families with ideas and information to keep you safe and your kids entertained at home.